hi•ne•ni
Widening Circles Collaborative
Honoring the thresholds
4
0:00
-16:20

Honoring the thresholds

A solstice meditation
4
sunset on the taos mesa

Happy Solstice y’all,

I’m grateful to meet you as the sun has just barely settled beneath the horizon, as we soften into the longest, darkest night of the year in the Northern Hemisphere. The new moon on Friday is amplifying this enveloping darkness – a potent synchronicity, a cosmic opportunity. I have deepened my relationship to the solstice over the years with rituals of reflection, intention setting, and recognition. The solstice reminds us that our wholeness endures even at the extremes. The longest night of the year in the north is met with the longest day of the year in the south. Here we are embraced with an enormous darkness, there they are activated in an extravagant brightness. Together we are balanced, harmonized. We are invited on the solstice to expand our consciousness toward a global awareness of planetary oneness. I bow to the intelligence that orchestrates with such exquisite grace.

I am so grateful to all subscribers, and deeply appreciative of those who contribute financially to one of the primary devotions of my life — meeting you here with my full, undefended heart, building community with you over time. Together, we are contributing $152 (or $156.73 with fees) to Sogorea Te’ Land Trust. Thank you all again for your generosity with me and with this vital endeavor to rematriate Ohlone land.

In the spirit of tradition, I will share a new organization with you all to contribute to through next year’s solstice. If you would like to support my work as well as an incredible community based organization, please consider joining or upgrading as a paid subscriber.

Tonight I offer you a meditation on completion and beginning, on energy reclamation and recycling, to honor endings and steward new possibilities. Please feel supported in sharing this with anyone who might appreciate this practice.

Share

I recorded this without much preparation, allowing it to flow through (so you’ll notice a bit of background noise), though it is based on a meditation I guided in the final class of this year’s Cultivating Culture that also concluded just an hour ago. I am so honored and humbled by that experience and excited to integrate and observe as the inspiration sparks more creativity in the year ahead.

With warm blessings and big love to you on this threshold,

Rachel

sunset over the san francisco bay
4 Comments
hi•ne•ni
Widening Circles Collaborative
cultivating cultures of belonging and economies of care // practicing more possible futures here and now
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Rachel Simon Stark